Death in Yellowstone

Author: Lee H. Whittlesey
Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield
ISBN: 9781570980213
Release Date: 1995
Genre: Nature

Intriguing stories of how people have died in Yellowstone warn about the many dangers that exist there and in wild areas in general.

A Journey Through Yellowstone

Author: David Quammen
Publisher: National Geographic Books
ISBN: 9781426217548
Release Date: 2016-08
Genre: Nature

Best-selling author David Quammen takes readers on a breathtaking journey through America's most inspiring and imperiled ecosystem--Yellowstone National Park--in this monumental book on America's first national park. Yellowstone's storied past, rich ecosystem, and dynamic landscape are brilliantly portrayed in a captivating mosaic of photographs and eloquently written text that blend history, science, and research from the field. As much a visual ode to nature as an intimate tour of one of the world's most celebrated conservation areas, this gorgeous book illuminates the park's treasures grand and small--from the iconic Old Faithful to the rare gray wolf; from misty mountain tops to iridescent springs; and from sweeping valleys to flourishing wild blooms. In four illuminating sections that combine photos, sidebars, and graphics with elegantly crafted text, this book brings readers deeper into the life of the park than ever before, both commemorating its beauty and highlighting its challenges. This book is an essential addition to the National Parks' 100th anniversary celebration and will remind readers why conservation is worth every effort.

Letters from Yellowstone

Author: Diane Smith
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101119099
Release Date: 2000-06-01
Genre: Fiction

In the spring of 1898, A. E. (Alexandria) Bartram--a spirited young woman with a love for botany--is invited to join a field study in Yellowstone National Park. The study's leader, a mild-mannered professor from Montana, assumes she is a man, and is less than pleased to discover the truth. Once the scientists overcome the shock of having a woman on their team, they forge ahead on a summer of adventure, forming an enlightening web of relationships as they move from Mammoth Hot Springs to a camp high in the backcountry. But as they make their way collecting amid Yellowstone's beauty the group is splintered by differing views on science, nature, and economics. In the tradition of A. S. Byatt's Angels and Insects and Andrea Barrett's Ship Fever, this delightful novel captures an ever-fascinating era and one woman's attempt to take charge of her life.

Yellowstone Treasures

Author: Janet Chapple
Publisher: Granite Peak Publications
ISBN: 9780985818296
Release Date: 2017-06-30
Genre: Travel

This fifth edition of the popular guide to Yellowstone, the world's first national park, revises descriptions of the hot springs, geysers, and wildlife viewing spots. Mile-by-mile road logs document every approach to the park and every interior road. Through charts and explanations, readers learn of Yellowstone's campgrounds and facilities, geyser basins and the frequency of the geyser eruptions, and out-of-the-way hikes. Updates include descriptions of new lodgings, scientific information reflecting recent research, 65 new color photos, and revised maps. A field guide to the animals and plants, a selected reading list, and a 21-page index round out this comprehensive guidebook.

Yellowstone National Park

Author: David Petersen
Publisher: Childrens Press
ISBN: 0516216686
Release Date: 2001
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Describes the history, geographic features, plant and animal life, and sights of Yellowstone National Park.

Yellowstone

Author: Richard A. Bartlett
Publisher: University of Arizona Press
ISBN: 0816510989
Release Date: 1988-10-01
Genre: Nature

"A detailed, well documented history of the extablishment (in 1872), growth, and maturation of Yellowstone National Park . . . America's (and the world's) first national park." ÑWildlife Book Review "Without question the best and most thought-provoking volume on America's first national park that has been written in the last half-century." ÑJournal of the West "Broad ranging, informative, thoughtful, and simply fun to read." ÑWestern Historical Quarterly

People of Yellowstone

Author: Ruth Crocker
Publisher: Benna Books
ISBN: 1944038019
Release Date: 2017-03-07
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

Yellowstone National Park is a national treasure recognized throughout the world. This full color photography book features 85 portraits and real-life stories of the people who maintain its wildness, capture it in photographs, lead expeditions, collect scientific data, wrangle horses for trail rides, document seismic activity, study wildlife, rescue the park s stranded hikers and much more throughout the park s 3,468 square miles. Photographer Steve Horan spent five years crisscrossing three states to find his collaborative subjects."

Buddy Bison s Yellowstone Adventure

Author: National Geographic Kids
Publisher: National Geographic Books
ISBN: 9781426322976
Release Date: 2016-02-09
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

"Butterflies flutter, birds soar, and geysers burst into the sky. Join Buddy Bison and his two new friends as they explore the majestic Yellowstone National Park. Breathtaking photographs of Yellowstone serve as the backdrop for the wacky adventures of a curious pair of twins, Elana and Christopher, who are spending the summer with their aunt Rosa, a park ranger. Instead of waiting patiently when their aunt gets an emergency call, Christopher wanders off. That's when Buddy Bison, the adorable plush toy clipped to Elana's backpack comes to life and to her aid. The unlikely pair heads out on a wild adventure through Yellowstone to search for her brother. As soon as Buddy leads Elana safely to her twin, her new oversized pal disappears. What happened to Buddy Bison? Did Elana imagine him or did he really come to life? This charming tale is sprinkled with helpful tidbits about the park, weird-but-true facts about the animals, and more fun facts kids adore. A comprehensive afterword offers a short history of the park and ways kids can get involved in parks preservation."

Playing God in Yellowstone

Author: Alston Chase
Publisher: Harcourt
ISBN: MINN:31951D001628111
Release Date: 1987
Genre: Nature

Basing his argument of five years of research, the author refutes Yellowstone Park's reputation as a great game sanctuary by revealing numerous examples of the park's ecological mismanagement

The Guide to Yellowstone Waterfalls and Their Discovery

Author: Paul Rubinstein
Publisher: Big Earth Publishing
ISBN: 156579351X
Release Date: 2000
Genre: Photography

Join three Yellowstone National Park experts in their remarkable discovery of the park's 200-plus new waterfalls, most of which the American public, and even Yellowstone park rangers, have never before witnessed. These trailblazers are the first to document the existence of these spectacular natural features -- at least 25 of which tower to heights of 100 feet or more -- and the authors do so through striking photographs, engaging text, and detailed maps. The book also features the park's 50 known waterfalls and reveals the untold stories surrounding many of them. For nature-lovers, adventure-seekers, and Yellowstone aficionados alike, Yellowstone: The Discovery of its Waterfalls is a landmark work, combining natural and human histories with unbelievably rare geographical discoveries.

Yellowstone

Author:
Publisher: Voyageur Press (MN)
ISBN: PSU:000021887376
Release Date: 1993
Genre: Nature

Describes the exploration, history, and natural history of the Yellowstone region and illustrates the diverse landscape and great variety of wildlife in the park

The Wolf

Author: Nate Blakeslee
Publisher: Random House Canada
ISBN: 9780345815750
Release Date: 2017-10-17
Genre: Nature

The intimate, involving story of the rise and reign of O-Six, the fabled Yellowstone wolf, and the people who loved or feared her. For readers of H is for Hawk, captivating works of reportage, and iconic books on the American West. Before humans ruled the Earth, there were wolves. Once abundant in the United States, these majestic creatures were hunted to near extinction by the 1920s. But in recent decades, conservationists have brought wolves from Canada back to Yellowstone National Park, igniting a battle over the very soul of the American West. With novelistic detail, Nate Blakeslee tells the gripping story of one of these wolves, a charismatic alpha female named O-Six. She's a kind and merciful leader, a fiercely intelligent fighter, and a doting mother. Beloved by wolf watchers, particularly Yellowstone park ranger Rick McIntyre, O-Six becomes something of a social media star, with followers around the world. But as she raises her pups and protects her pack, O-Six is being challenged on all fronts: by hunters and their professional guides, who compete with wolves for the elk they all prize; by cattle ranchers who are losing livestock and have the ear of politicians; and by other Yellowstone wolves who resent her dominance of the stunningly beautiful Lamar Valley. These forces collide in The Wolf, a riveting multigenerational wildlife saga that tells a larger story about the clash of values in the West--between those fighting for a vanishing way of life and those committed to restoring one of the country's most vibrant landscapes.