The Chesapeake Bride

Author: Mariah Stewart
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9781501154386
Release Date: 2017-08-29
Genre: Fiction

From New York Times bestselling author Mariah Stewart comes a new chapter in her celebrated Chesapeake Diaries series, featuring her signature “rich characterization, charming setting, and a romance you’ll never forget” (Robyn Carr, #1 New York Times bestselling author). Architect Cassidy Logan has sworn off good-looking adventurers. Newly divorced, she’s focused on building ecologically friendly, historically accurate homes on the Chesapeake Bay for her father’s construction company. Traveling to Cannonball Island—where there has been no new construction in nearly one hundred years—Cass is sensitive to the heritage of the island, and has come up with plans so perfect she’s determined to buy a home for herself. Even the fact that Owen Parker—a local who she dismisses as a lightweight and a player—seems to be everywhere isn’t enough to deter her from building her dream house. Owen Parker is and always has been sinfully handsome and wickedly clever, a magnet for mischief as well as girls. He’s a rolling stone, going and doing whatever appeals to him, from flying a mail plane in Alaska, to working on a cattle ranch in Australia, a shrimp boat in Louisiana, and surfing and diving in Costa Rica. When an old friend offers him a job salvaging a sunken ship on the Chesapeake Bay, Owen gladly accepts. Something’s been telling him it was time to head home to Cannonball Island, and a job is as good an excuse as any. And he’s totally smitten by the pretty architect on the scene, but it seems he’s finally met a woman who’s immune to his charms. Sooner or later, Owen will have to face the reason why he always runs, because this time, leaving just might be harder than staying.

Sommersehnsucht

Author: Nora Roberts
Publisher: Heyne Verlag
ISBN: 9783641047566
Release Date: 2010-07-28
Genre: Fiction

Gefühlvoll und berührend: der zweite Roman des großen Jahreszeiten-Zyklus Freundschaft und Liebe – das geht nicht zusammen. Zu dumm nur, dass sich Emmas langjähriger Freund Jack, ein erfolgreicher Architekt, völlig überraschend als ihre große Liebe erweist. Nun steckt die Floristin der erfolgreichen Hochzeitsagentur »Vows« in der Klemme, zumal sie weiß, wie sehr Jack an seiner Freiheit hängt. Doch auch Jack muss erkennen, dass seine Gefühle für Emma über Freundschaft hinausgehen. Gut, dass die romantische Emma immer auf ihre drei besten Freundinnen Parker, Mac und Laurel zählen kann!

Fortune s Bride

Author: Judith E. French
Publisher: Kensington Publishing Corp.
ISBN: 9781601830951
Release Date: 2013-12-05
Genre: Fiction

In a time of revolution, a fiery young widow may have to compromise more than her politics. . . As British soldiers swarm her Maryland plantation, Caroline Steele must feign loyalty to the Crown to protect her home. But she is in danger of losing everything when a fugitive chooses her bedroom as his hiding place—and effectively ruins her reputation. Now the scoundrel owes Caroline his life—a debt she demands he pay—with marriage. . . Rebel sea captain Garrett Faulkner never planned to take a wife. But Caroline has him undeniably trapped—and tempted. With the British on his heels, and a murderous suitor after her fortune, both have much to lose—and more to gain than their hearts dare imagine. For marriage is merely one part of a bargain filled with secrets, adventure—and irresistible desire. . . 150,000 Words

Winterwunder

Author: Nora Roberts
Publisher: Heyne Verlag
ISBN: 9783641063931
Release Date: 2011-09-12
Genre: Fiction

Die vier Freundinnen Emma, Mac, Laurel und Parker leiten zusammen eine florierende Hochzeitsagentur. Und bis auf eine haben sie alle die Liebe ihres Lebens gefunden. Nur Parker, das Organisationstalent der Gruppe und eine echte Powerfrau, ist anscheinend mit ihrem Beruf verheiratet – bis Malcomb in ihr Leben tritt. Aber wie soll sie mit ihm eine Beziehung führen, wenn er sich weigert, über seine Vergangenheit zu sprechen?

Ufer der Hoffnung

Author: Nora Roberts
Publisher: Heyne Verlag
ISBN: 9783641111588
Release Date: 2013-05-10
Genre: Fiction

Aus dem ängstlichen Jungen Seth Quinn ist ein erfolgreicher Maler geworden, aber die Schatten der Vergangenheit lassen ihm keine Ruhe. Zuhause, bei seiner Familie hofft er, Frieden zu finden. Die schöne Drusilla kämpft gegen ihre eigenen Dämonen, doch gemeinsam haben sie und Seth eine Hoffnung auf Liebe... Ein neuer Roman der Bestsellerautorin aus der erfolgreichen Quinn-Saga.

Landfall Along the Chesapeake

Author: Susan Schmidt
Publisher: JHU Press
ISBN: 0801882966
Release Date: 2006-02-08
Genre: History

In 2002, Susan Schmidt retraced John Smith's 1608 voyage on the Chesapeake Bay. In Landfall along the Chesapeake she recounts her hundred-day, 2,500-mile, mostly solo adventure navigating a small boat. Her daily ship's log weaves history and science, weather and seamanship.

The Chesapeake Book of the Dead

Author: Helen Chappell
Publisher: JHU Press
ISBN: 0801860415
Release Date: 1999-03-08
Genre: History

As old grave sites disappear under developers' bulldozers, through neglect, and at the hands of unscrupulous headstone collectors, this book offers a unique and elegiac look at our past and its tales of love and tragedy.

Murder on the Chesapeake

Author: David Osborn
Publisher: Zebra Books
ISBN: 0821741659
Release Date: 1993
Genre: Fiction

Grandmotherly sleuth Margaret Barlow returns to the hallowed halls of her alma mater to solve the mystery of a young girl found hanged in the bell tower

A Midsummer Bride

Author: Amanda Forester
Publisher: Sourcebooks, Inc.
ISBN: 9781402271823
Release Date: 2013-11-05
Genre: Fiction

One Unconventional American Heiress Can Be Even Wilder Than the Highlands... Outspoken American heiress Harriet Redgrave is undeniably bad ton. She laughs too much, rides too fast, and tends to start fires pursuing her interest in the new science of chemistry. And despite her grandfather's matchmaking intentions to the contrary, Harriet has no interest in being wooed for her wealth. Duncan Maclachlan, Earl of Thornton, would never marry to repair the family fortunes. Or would he? When he saves Harriet from a science experiment about to go very, very, wrong, all bets are off. Marriage Mart Series: A Wedding in Springtime (Book 1) A Midsummer Bride (Book 2) A Winter Wedding (Book 3) Praise for A Wedding in Springtime: "This entertaining novel is a diamond of the first order...the clever combination of wit, romance, and suspense strikes all the right notes."—Booklist "Forester promises her fans a warm, humorous jaunt through Regency England—and she delivers with a cast of engaging characters and delightful intrigue."—RT Book Reviews, 4 stars

Southern Writers

Author: Joseph M. Flora
Publisher: LSU Press
ISBN: 9780807131237
Release Date: 2006-06-21
Genre: Reference

This new edition of Southern Writers assumes its distinguished predecessor's place as the essential reference on literary artists of the American South. Broadly expanded and thoroughly revised, it boasts 604 entries-nearly double the earlier edition's-written by 264 scholars. For every figure major and minor, from the venerable and canonical to the fresh and innovative, a biographical sketch and chronological list of published works provide comprehensive, concise, up-to-date information. Here in one convenient source are the South's novelists and short story writers, poets and dramatists, memoirists and essayists, journalists, scholars, and biographers from the colonial period to the twenty-first century. What constitutes a "southern writer" is always a matter for debate. Editors Joseph M. Flora and Amber Vogel have used a generous definition that turns on having a significant connection to the region, in either a personal or literary sense. New to this volume are younger writers who have emerged in the quarter century since the dictionary's original publication, as well as older talents previously unknown or unacknowledged. For almost every writer found in the previous edition, a new biography has been commissioned. Drawn from the very best minds on southern literature and covering the full spectrum of its practitioners, Southern Writers is an indispensable reference book for anyone intrigued by the subject.

Chesapeake Gardening and Landscaping

Author: Barbara W. Ellis
Publisher: UNC Press Books
ISBN: 9781469620985
Release Date: 2015-03-30
Genre: Gardening

What if, one step at a time, we could make our gardens and landscapes more eco-friendly? Barbara W. Ellis's colorful, comprehensive guide shows homeowners, gardeners, garden designers, and landscapers how to do just that for the large and beautiful Chesapeake Bay watershed region. This area includes Maryland, Virginia, Delaware, Washington, D.C., and part of West Virginia (translating to portions of USDA Zones 6, 7, and 8). Here, mid-Atlantic gardeners, from beginners to advanced, will find the essential tools for taking steps to make their gardens part of the solution through long-term planning and planting. The guide is built from the ground up around six simple but powerful principles that anyone can use: * Reduce lawn * Build plant diversity * Grow native plants * Manage water runoff * Welcome wildlife * Garden wisely Included are detailed instructions for assessing and designing your particular garden or landscape site; choosing and caring for trees, shrubs, vines, ground covers, and flowers; and succeeding with such conditions as shade or poor soil. From rain gardens to woodland gardens, meadow gardens to wildlife gardens, and much more, this indispensable guide features more than 300 color photographs.

Passions Bride

Author: Jo Goodman
Publisher: Zebra
ISBN: 0821714171
Release Date: 1984-08-01
Genre: Fiction

Aboard an American naval vessel, Alexis finds herself captivated by Captain Tanner Cloud, but before she will yield to his passionate embrace, she vows to kill the man who destroyed her family

Home for the Summer

Author: Mariah Stewart
Publisher: Ballantine Books
ISBN: 9780345534651
Release Date: 2012-05-29
Genre: Fiction

New York Times bestselling author Mariah Stewart presents a captivating contemporary romance novel in the tradition of Robyn Carr, Susan Mallery, and Barbara Freethy. Some of Lucy Sinclair’s best days were those spent growing up in small town St. Dennis—working at the family inn and enjoying summers filled with swimming, sailing, tennis, and the company of Clay Madison, her best friend. But Lucy’s darkest day, the one that shattered her innocence with violence and fear, also happened in St. Dennis. And the town she once loved became the place she gladly left behind—along with the terrible secret she’s kept for twenty years. While Lucy headed off for college and a career, Clay remained—more than satisfied with the life St. Dennis had to offer. But now, even after inheriting his family’s thriving farm and starting up an organic brewery, he can’t help feeling that something’s missing. And when Lucy comes back to town to plan a celebrity wedding at the Sinclair family inn, she and Clay reconnect, and find themselves reevaluating their long-sleeping friendship that could blossom into something deeper. Like a bookend to those distant childhood days, this summer will be Lucy’s chance to finally confront her hidden pain, make peace with the past, and plan her own whole new future. BONUS: This edition includes an excerpt from Mariah Stewart's Long Way Home.