Devil s Cape

Author: Rob Rogers
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
ISBN: 0786949015
Release Date: 2008
Genre: Fiction

In Devil's Cape, a town bordering on New Orleans, a horrific crime gives rise to a new breed of vigilantes, who set in motion a series of events that will transform Devil's Cape forever--but not necessarily for the better.

The Devil s Necktie

Author: John Lansing
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9781451698343
Release Date: 2012-12-31
Genre: Fiction

A sizzling thriller for fans of James Patterson and Patricia Cornwell—an exciting tour into the real-life world of cops, crime, drugs, and murder. Retired inspector Jack Bertolino had strict rules when dealing with confidential informants. But Mia had the kind of beauty that could make a grown man contemplate leaving his wife, his job, and his kids. After a passionate night together, Mia is found murdered—and Jack is the lead suspect. Facing threats from the LAPD, the 18th Street Angels, and a Colombian drug cartel, Jack delves deeper into the seedy world of drug dealers and murderers and discovers that the top players knew Mia personally. And now Jack is torn between fearing for his life and seeking revenge for his slain lover….either way, the body count will rise.

Hiking Oregon

Author: Lizann Dunegan
Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield
ISBN: 9780762795284
Release Date: 2013-05-07
Genre: Sports & Recreation

Featuring 50 of the state's best hikes, with an additional 52 honorable mention hikes, Hiking Oregon is the ticket to experiencing the Beaver State's remarkable diversity. This one-of-a-kind guidebook will take outdoor enthusiasts on hikes along rugged, rocky coastline to historic lighthouses; through scented, sagebrush high desert and magnificent lava plains; to the tops of volcanic peaks; past cascading waterfalls; and alongside wild and scenic rivers.

Fiction Catalog

Author: H.W. Wilson Company
Publisher:
ISBN: UOM:39015079745850
Release Date: 2007
Genre: Best books

Includes an abridged edition of 1908 catalog issued under title: English prose fiction ... list of about 800 title.

Texas Devils

Author: Michael L. Collins
Publisher: University of Oklahoma Press
ISBN: 9780806185422
Release Date: 2012-11-09
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

The Texas Rangers have been the source of tall tales and the stuff of legend as well as a growing darker reputation. But the story of the Rangers along the Mexican border between Texas statehood and the onset of the Civil War has been largely overlooked—until now. This engaging history pulls readers back to a chaotic time along the lower Rio Grande in the mid-nineteenth century. Texas Devils challenges the time-honored image of “good guys in white hats” to reveal the more complicated and sobering reality behind the Ranger Myth. Michael L. Collins demonstrates that, rather than bringing peace to the region, the Texas Rangers contributed to the violence and were often brutal in their injustices against Spanish-speaking inhabitants, who dubbed them los diablos Tejanos—the Texas devils. Collins goes beyond other, more laudatory Ranger histories to focus on the origins of the legend, casting Ranger immortals such as John Coffee “Jack” Hays, Ben McCulloch, and John S. “Rip” Ford in a new and not always flattering light. In revealing a barbaric code of conduct on the Rio Grande frontier, Collins shows that much of the Ranger Myth doesn’t hold up to close historical scrutiny. Texas Devils offers exciting true stories of the Rangers for anyone captivated by their legend, even as it provides a corrective to that legend.

Shakespeare Harsnett and the Devils of Denham

Author: Frank Walsh Brownlow
Publisher: University of Delaware Press
ISBN: 0874134366
Release Date: 1993
Genre: Literary Criticism

Part 1 of this book provides an annotated edition of Samuel Harsnett's famous attack on the practice of exorcism, which had a profound influence upon Shakespeare's conception and writing of King Lear. Part 2 explores the context of Shakespeare's reading of Harsnett's book.

The Devils Playpark

Author: Jacqueline Gough
Publisher: Trafford Publishing
ISBN: 9781466921252
Release Date: 2012-06
Genre: Poetry

An insight in to a young Goths mind as she is thrust, tossed and thrown in the washing machine spin cycle of adulthood. Feel the freedom of expression, the pain and triumph of defeating your demons. These single page episodes are a window in to the author's soul, her feelings, her sub-consciousness and her path to develop in to a better person. Sympathise and find common ground with each new page and poem grit your teeth and cringe at the images that flow through your mind in a rollercoaster of emotion. Rise and fall with each turn feeling content that you too can overcome hardship and difficulty emerging a stronger person for each word you absorb. Words are a the art form of independence, ingest each one, savour it, enjoy it, feel better for it and immerse yourself in my pain.

Devils in Paradise

Author: Pasquale Verdicchio
Publisher: Guernica Editions
ISBN: 1550710273
Release Date: 1997-01-01
Genre: Social Science

In these essays Pasquale Verdicchio stresses the need to view the cultural works of minority groups not solely from the perspective of their immigrant roots, but primarily as post-emigrant products. Through writings on diverse figures such as Antonio Gramsci, the Super Mario Brothers, or Spike Lee, and on subjects that range from literature to sculpture and photography, the author closes in on a possible intellectual synthesis for what might be considered the most complex question of this end of century: What is the identity and place of a minority individual?

My Fellow Devils

Author: L. P. Hartley
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9781848548671
Release Date: 2013-06-20
Genre: Fiction

Margaret Pennefather is essentially a good person - too good, perhaps, for her own good. Her rash and hasty marriage to film star Colum McInnes, and his very different set of moral values, leads gradually and relentlessly to the utter destruction of their love and their marriage. Although she is only a nominal Protestant and he a very lax Roman Catholic, Margaret cannot escape the religious questionings implicit in their union. Her mental and spiritual struggles persist and gather momentum through all the disasters of her married life. Its outcome is the climax to a story that must surely rank as one of the most impressive L. P. Hartley has given us.

A Paradise Inhabited by Devils

Author: Jennifer D. Selwyn
Publisher: Routledge
ISBN: 9781351962117
Release Date: 2017-03-02
Genre: History

In recent years much scholarly attention has been focused on the encounter of cultures during the early modern period, and the global implications that such encounters held. As a result of this work, scholars have now begun to re-evaluate many aspects of early culture contact, not least with respect to Christian missionary activities. Prominent amongst the missionaries were members of the Society of Jesus. Emerging as a dynamic new religious order in the wake of the Reformation, the Jesuits were deeply committed to promoting religious and cultural reforms both within Europe and in non-Christian lands. Yet whilst scholars have revealed much about the Jesuits' innovative educational endeavours, and their numerous missions to the Americas, Asia and the Sub-Continent, less attention has been paid to the nature of the Jesuits' global civilizing mission as a key feature of their institutional character. Nor has sufficient work been done to fully explain the relationship between the Jesuits' efforts to evangelize and civilize those areas within the Catholic fold and those without. Taking as its focus the city of Naples, this study illuminates how the Jesuits' work in a Catholic European setting reflected their broader global civilizing mission. Despite its Catholic heritage, Naples was popularly perceived as a place of spiritual and social disorder, thus providing an irresistible challenge to religious reformers, such as the Jesuits, who sought to 'civilize' the city. Drawing in considerable numbers of the order, Naples proved to be a training ground for the Jesuits that shaped the order's missionary praxis and influenced the thinking of many who would later travel further afield. By gaining a fuller understanding of this process, it is possible to better understand what drove the Jesuits to craft and perpetuate a cultural map that continues to resonate down to our own times. This book is published in conjunction with the Jesuit Historical Institute series 'Bibliotheca Instituti Historici Societatis Iesu'.